top of page

Race 7- East Sussex Cross Country League


Race: ESCCL New Place Farm Framfield

Distance: 5 Miles

Time: 42 Minutes

After doing a bit of research I realised that I could squeeze in one more race before Christmas (and before our Month away). I really liked the look and sound of this race. The East Sussex Cross Country League describe their races as ‘ a good old fashioned cross country’ and this race (the 3rd of their 6 annual races) would certainly not disappoint.

It was another lovely lazy race morning as the race did not start until 11am. It was a good 40 minutes drive away from us here in Shoreham over to Framfield. We did not really know where we were heading- all we knew was that the race started and finished at a farm and that the registration desk was located in a barn.

As the distance to our destination ticked down on the SatNav we realised we were heading out into proper farmers country- with flat fields as far as the eye could see on both sides of the road. We pulled into our designated farm (helpfully flagged very clearly with a ESCCL banner!) and wow- this certainly was a real working farm and this no doubt was going to be a real cross country race. We found a parking space in amongst the farm buildings and noticed how well attended this event was. There were cars parked in every available space and plenty of running clubs in attendance. It was a mad dash to register - but it was very easy and relaxed (and only £5!). I knew I was amongst my type of people when I overheard one of the ladies at the registration desk talking about how she had folded her number and attached it to her leg for the first time only recently- and what an epiphany this was to her! (it is just so convenient and doesn’t get in the way!) I obviously couldn’t help myself and had to butt in and tell her about my recent experience with arm grab man and how I am now scared to pin a number on my leg in case I get disqualified / arm grabbed.

Anyway- none of that to worry about here- out into the fields we went to assemble with our fellow cross country runners. I did NOT have time for a wee which meant I was going to have to run with a full bladder (oh.. nooo!)And soon we were off- no need for impossible to hear pre-race rules and regulations here. After looking around at the other runners I decided that I would run without headphones-as this seemed like the done thing.

It was a very foggy eerie morning with no hope for the sun breaking through and we were essentially running around harvested fields on farm land. There wasn’t a great deal to look at during the first part of the race and so my mind started to wonder into long buried memories of a similar style of race that we used to do at primary school. I remember slipping and sliding around the playing field/ football pitch during ‘cross country’ and this race was just like that - only the fields were a whole lot bigger. As there wasn’t much stimulation for the eyes, I started to long for my music... I also picked up on another runner's very loud and consistent breathing style which plagued me for most of the run- I kept trying to put some distance between us so I could find some peace and quiet but they kept huffing and puffing behind me- no matter how many people I tried to put between us.

The course was pretty flat, and not too muddy- the only slippy parts were on the corners of the fields but I was still glad for my trail shoes with the extra grip as it meant I was less likely to slow down when faced with a muddy patch. (i’m still a bit precious and careful when it comes to certain aspects of trail running- slippery mud and running down hill slow me right down)

I decided to wear my watch again and only glanced at it occasionally to get an idea of my pace. Compared to running on tarmac I felt S-L-O-W today and was really aware and conscious of the fact that I was way at the back of the pack. I kept glancing behind me and was only aware of a handful of runners behind me. Due to the way the race was marked out you could sometimes see the other side of the field and therefore see just how fast the front of the pack runners were going. I mean these were SERIOUS cross country runners. (Little shorts and vests style serious!).

The last couple of miles of the race were somewhat more pleasing for the eye- including some beautiful woodland surrounding the fields we were running in- and a final lap of a very pretty lake before an up hill finish towards the New Place Farm House whose land we were very kindly using for our little cross country race. (To me it screamed WEDDING VENUE- But I don’t think it’s used for events- you can read more and see pictures of new place farm here. During the last mile I got pretty warm and could feel that my face was red as a beetroot! I gave the final half mile of the race my best final push and stormed up the horrible hill finish towards Alex with my standard ‘thank god it’s nearly over’ smile on my face.

Absolutely loved my first race with the East Sussex Cross Country League and I hope to attend more of their races next year. Really relaxed and informal - a no frills but friendly cross country race. I approve indeed! As we were on our way back through the barn back to our car we noticed that there were boxes and boxes of gels available for taking. We went to have a little look and grabbed a couple each. One of the ladies that organised the race saw us and made Alex fill his bag with them. So if anyone wants some free apple flavour gels you know where to come!

That really was my final race of 2016… We fly to Australia on Christmas day for a month and then it’s back for a really intense February/March- including 4 half marathons (or longer) distance races one weekend after another. I better keep running in Australia then- I can’t really afford to get out of shape with so many big races coming up.

bottom of page